Eggs is eggs

When students are new to photography (or drawing), a teacher will often use an egg to demonstrate the effect of light on an object’s appearance. As the direction and strength of a light source changes in relation to the egg, the smooth, innocuous surface takes on dramatically varied aspects and tones.

It’s an effective reminder not to take a scene for granted; an invitation to observe more deeply.

Of course, the egg’s usually safely wrapped up in its shell. But as soft light poured into my kitchen one Saturday morning, I was so taken with the look of my burgeoning brekkie that I grabbed my camera before serving up.

I took this shot a while ago, but it’s one I’ve returned to several times since. Perhaps it’s because it reminds me how a striking light can make the most mundane of subjects something to really ponder, even marvel at. Or perhaps it’s just because, on that one morning in May last year, I really nailed those eggs.

20121127-220300.jpg

2 Comments

Comments

