An evening with The Polyphonic Spree

One way or another, my nights spent enjoying London’s busy gig scene have dwindled over the last couple of years. Last night I was reminded what I’ve been missing, thanks to a fantastic, exuberant gig by The Polyphonic Spree. They’re back after a six-year break, with a Kickstarter-funded new album to play.

The Polyphonic Spree, Village Underground, August 6th 2013.
The Polyphonic Spree, Village Underground, August 6th 2013.

I was always sorry I never saw them live the first time around, having been a big fan of their first album’s huge, harmonic sound. Going by last night’s gig, the line-up seems to have shrunk to a modest dozen participants (there used to be over 20 of the Spree),¬†but they’ve lost none of their exultant powers. They were a triumph, their joyful Beach Boys harmonies delivered with energy channelled from The Commitments.

The Polyphonic Spree

It was also a chance to take the Fuji X-E1 out and about, and once again its low-light performance proved impressive. The shots here are jpegs straight from the camera, as with my first X-E1 post. I wish I’d had a camera this capable at some of the gigs I’ve been to over the years! Still, after a few test shots the camera went back in its case and I let the band’s trombone-fuelled positivity wash over me. A soul-stirring, happy evening.

We Are Friends

Comments

